Skip to main content

10 years of Wonderfeel

Wonderfeel 10 x 10 composers

This summer we are celebrating 10 years of Wonderfeel! As a treat, 10 new works by 10 young composers will be premiered during the festival. With this we not only mark our tenth anniversary, but also look forward, into the future. We would like to introduce the composers to you below!

The roots of this project lie in 2023. For our 9th edition, composer Pete Harden – that year also winner of the Matthijs Vermeulen Prize – created the composition Contributions in response to a challenging question posed by Eva Rovers: “How can we be good ancestors? Harden’s work, based on conversations with various Wonderfeel musicians, offered an initial exploration of this question through those different perspectives. For our anniversary project, he is passing the baton to the next generation of composers, who in turn will reflect on the future and incorporate their answer or quest into new compositions. The works will be performed over the three days of Wonderfeel 2024 by 10 very diverse ensembles, including HIIIT, Camerata Trajectina, Dianto Reed Quintet and Ragazze Quartet.

Composers & ensembles

Noëmi Schermann  x Wonderfeel Festival Orchestra o.l.v. Johannes Leertouwer

Annija Zarina  x Kãna Trio

Simon van Prooijen x Otilka Quartet

Arefeh Hekmatpanah x Ella Zirina Trio &  Mahdokht Mojiri

Martín Francisco Mayo x Ragazze Quartet

Catharina Clement  x HiiiT

Julian Tjon Sack Kie x Rakhi Singh

Lisa Weyrauther x Dianto Reed Quintet

Camiel Jansen x Ikarai

Apollon Kalamenios x Camerata Trajectina


Made possible in part by the Performing Arts Fund and individual donations.